I am someone who enjoys making new friends.  I’m not picky about their background, or what they do for a living, or how much money they make as long as they’re sincere and genuine that is fine with me.  However, in the past I have come across people who seemed genuine and sincere enough in wanting to start a friendship with me but at the same time there are some question marks about them that till today I haven’t found the answers to.

For example, there was this guy I got to know a few years ago from a local radio station.  When he and I first started talking, he seemed like a jovial guy who’s game for anything that’s fun.  He had interesting things to talk about and I really enjoyed talking to him.  Then as time went by, we started getting to know each other better and that’s when I began having questions about him.  It is normal to ask questions about the other person’s family and personal life when you want to get to know that person better and in this case I did exactly that.  However, the things that he told me about himself, his family and his past, it all sounded like something that he made up to try to impress me.

In one of our conversations I told him that I’ve always been fascinated by ‘bad boys’ for I find them a lot more interesting and unpredictable.  It’s the sense of ‘adventure’ that thrills me more than anything; to expect the unexpected and to be surprised of the unknown.  And because I shared with him this piece of information about myself, he suddenly painted himself a picture of someone who was so notorious in the past, someone with a dangerous edge who has done things which normal respectable guy wouldn’t even dream of doing.  I asked him to give me an example of the things that he had done in the past and when he did I just shook my head in disbelief because it sounded like he was describing a character from some novel or movie.

He also told me that he was self-employed and that he’s made his millions through his businesses, that he owned a luxurious condo overlooking the ocean on one of the islands here, drives an expensive car, even claimed that he owns a boat!  I was impressed by this knowledge because I thought that this was a man who was dedicated and hardworking.  But imagine my surprise when I used to call him on his phone and found him working as a checkout guy at a mini market when he’s supposed to be working at his own business place!  When I asked him about it he told me that he was just ‘helping’ a friend.  I also found it absurd for him to be renting a small room to live in when he supposedly have this luxurious condo, and also for him to be riding a kapchai when he supposedly own an expensive car!  Nothing that he’s told me seemed to fit.

I’ve known this guy for a few years now and till today he’s still sticking to his story no matter how bizarre it sounds.  Why do people lie and make up stories about themselves to impress others?  Is their self-esteem really that low that they feel if they were to be themselves others would not accept them?  Don’t they realise that to cover a lie they would have to come up with another lie and at the end of the day it will all be nothing but just a bunch of lies?     

